Set Me Free One Day At a Time

Once upon a time, there was this little girl that grew up in an Italian family that loved to cook and eat and eat and eat. Food was like a blanket of love all rolled up into comfort of a temporary disguise of untruth.This little girl struggled with her weight for what seemed like decades. Cotton candy, candy apples …a candy store lined up with visions of jelly belly’s that she managed with her life experience. She once knew Richard Simmons that Gura of weight loss. One day her cousin and her learned Richard was going to be at a radio show in Rochester New York. The excitement mounted as she planned to meet her teacher of weight loss. When Richard laid eyes on her in the studio , he danced with her as she cried and cried and cried. Richard told her , ” if I had a magic wand I would wave it but I can’t !” She thought , shit , I want that magic, I am tired of the struggle I want to be thinner and healthier. This little girl was me, myself and I that grew up learning that the magic  was within and no one could ever give it to me. As the years went by, I then planned to go on Richard Simmons ” Cruise to Lose,” a dream come true for me. I packed my bags and left my husband to tend to our three children and it all began. Looking for the magic where could it be , look into the mirror you are what you need. From the Cruise to lose, to exercising on the stage in Tampa with Richard , I was always looking for that magic in weight loss. I spent what seemed like years losing and gaining weight, like a roller coaster ride of tormented dreams wanting to be thin and beautiful. Here I am, fifty eight years old finally getting it , with the help of Maya Nahra founder of ” Healthy Habit Solutions.” Who was this little woman that reminded me of a Goddess of weight loss. Oh no Denise you learned the hard way ,” never get lost in the messenger.” The work began over a year and a half ago, slow and steady, wins the race Maya would say. I am over seventy pounds down and getting healthier and happier. Set me free one day at a time, one moment at a time, knowing I am the only person that could have ever freed myself from the hands of obesity.I am forever grateful for the wonder teachers that I have had in this life time, and I want to tell you that you can do this. You can be that person in the mirror that could set yourself free. God bless you and welcome to  your own new story. Much Love Denise Street

Leave a Reply

